Over 40 million EOS SLR cameras served

Canon Inc. announced today that manufacturing of their EOS-series film and digital single-lens reflex cameras passed the 40-million mark. The EOS Digital series recently surpassed 20 million cameras.

The EOS series, which stands for “Electro Optical System” was first introduced in March 1987 as a new generation of  autofocus SLR cameras that incorporated the first electronic mount system (EF) for complete electronic control not only between the lens and body but throughout the entire camera system. The flagship EOS-1 professional model was first introduced in 1989.

Following the introduction of the EOS D30 in 2000, Canon developed its proprietary CMOS sensors and high-performance DIGIC digital image processor, as well as an extensive lineup of EF lenses. Currently there are seven Canon EOS cameras—two professional, three advanced-amateur, and two entry-level models.