S.O.C. Awards

It’s “Awards Season” in Hollywood, and a great event is The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) Awards to be held at the Leonard Goldenson Theater of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences on February 21, 2009.

The 2009 nominees for “A” Camera Operator on a Feature are: Will Arnot, SOC (Milk), Stephen Campanelli, SOC (The Changeling), Robert Gorelick, SOC (The Dark Knight), Kim Marks, SOC (The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button) and Martin Schaer, SOC (Eagle Eye). Tough choice — superb work on all.

The SOC President’s Award goes to Mole Richardson Executive Larry Mole Parker. Longtime member of the SOC and Panavision Executive Andy Romanoff will receive the Society’s Distinguished Service Award. Also honored is our good friend and longtime favorite helicopter pilot Al Cerullo (Spiderman, I am Legend, Remo Williams!).

For Technical Achievement, the SOC honors George Paddock, Chris Haarhoff, Mark O’Kane and David Emmerichs of GPI for the PRO Camera Stabilization System.

Douglas Trumbull (2001, Brainstorm) is honored for development of the Slit Scan Photographic Process in Motion Picture Photography — famously remembered in Stanley Kubrick’s 2001.

For more details on the event go to:  www.soc.org

Leave a Comment